Updated on April 8, 2015
1st announcement
May 10-13, 2015, 30th Anniversary Hall, University of Tsukuba, Japan
Welcome reception: May 10, Ohkura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba 11F (17:00~)
| About 5thAASEF | Call for papers | Important dates |
| Scientific program | About your presentation | Registration |
| Venue and access | Hotel accommodation | General Chairs | International Advisory Board |
| Organizing Committee | Steering committee | Program committee | Secretary |
| Sponsors and support | Contact us |
About 5thAASEF / Greetings
The 5th Asia-Arab Sustainable Energy Forum (jointly with 7th International Workshop on Sahara Solar Breeder) will be held at Tsukuba in Japan for a period of May 10 through 13, 2015. Sustainable energy is a key issue for the future of the earth, which should be played primarily with people in Asia and Africa. This Forum brings together those who are interested in sustainable energy materials, devices, systems, and applications, with focuses on new silicon technology, large scale photovoltaic (PV) system and super grid. Presentations and discussions cover innovative silicon processes and solar breeder for the energy from the desert and superconducting DC electric transmission technology.
Call for Papers / Abstract submission
Please use the MS-Word format (.docx). The deadline of the 1-page abstract is March 31, 2015. Please submit the abstract to SUMIYA.Masatomo@nims.go.jp by e-mail.
Please put your name in a file to submit as “Abstract_Given name_Surname.docx”
e.g. Abstract_Masatomo_Sumiya.docx
The symposium covers following topics:
1. Innovative Si technology
2. Environmental and Bio Materials
3. Superconducting DC transmission
4. PV material, application and system
5. International cooperation
Important dates
February, 2015 First call of the 5thAASEF and 7thSSB
March 31,2015
Deadline of the 1-page abstract 
April 10, 2015 Acceptance of the presentation
April 15, 2015 Deadline of the Registration
Scientific Program
To be updated
About your presentation
Oral presentation:
Plenary lecture 40 min / Invited oral talk 30 min / Contribution talk 15 min, including discussion.
Poster presentation:
Poster size A0 (841x1189 mm). Detail schedule is available later.

Poster award will be given to the best student during 5th AASEF. The presentation will be judged by the Forum committee.
Registration (tentative)
Please register with the following registration form via E-mail. koinuma_sec@ams.k.u-tokyo.ac.jp
(Ms. Yoshioka). The deadline is
April 15. The registration will be completed by sending reply mail to you from the secretary bureau. If you have any questions, please contact to us.

Registration fee must be paid at the Forum desk. Only cash (JPY) is accepted. Although on-site registration is available, the pre-registration before Apr. 15 is recommended.

Lunch box can be ordered 1,000 yen/day.
Before Apr. 15, 2015 After Apr. 15, 2015 Remark
Academia JPY 27,000 JPY 32,000 Lunch and banquet fees are not included
Student* JPY 3,000 JPY 4,000 Lunch and banquet fees are not included.
Company JPY 37,000 JPY 42,000 Lunch fee is not included.
Banquet fee is included.
Banquet JPY 6,000 @ Hotel Okura
Booth exhibition JPY 50,000 Including registration fee for one person
Registration Form_"Registration_Form_5AASEF.xlsx"
Venue and Access
Tsukuba City
Tsukuba City is located approx.
50 km from Tokyo, only 45 min. by Tsukuba Express line (express railway) and 60 min. by car, which is an excellent accessibility from the central area of Tokyo. The topography is rather flat covered with rich nature, such as Mt. Tsukuba at the north which is familiar to many people, and Lake Kasumigaura at the east which is the second largest lake in Japan. The climate is relatively warm throughout the year, which makes a very comfortable environment.

Tsukuba Science City was built in order to ease congestion of Tokyo and to conduct high-level research and education by transferring national research and development, and educational institutions systematically. The city is now the largest science technology accumulation site among the country, where more than 300 public and private institutions and enterprises are located.

Access to Welcome reception
May 10, Ohkura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba 11F (17:00~)


Access to Forum (University of Tsukuba)
Access to University of Tsukuba (Bus stop at Daigaku Kaikan Mae from #6 bus stop at Tsukuba Bus Center. It takes approximately 10 min and 200 JPY. Right (Clockwise) around-loop bus is recommended.)


Hotel accommodation
Hotel reservation and payment is requested to be done personally by visiting the hotel website.
If you need any help, please contact our secretariat: koinuma_sec@ams.k.u-tokyo.ac.jp (Ms. Yoshioka)

Daiwa Roynet Hotels (a 1-minute walk from TX Tsukuba Station)

Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba Main Building (a 2-minute walk from TX Tsukuba Station)

Okura Frontier Hotel Tsukuba Epochal (a 8-minute walk from TX Tsukuba Station)

Hotel Grand Shinonome (a 7-minute walk from TX Tsukuba Station)
General Chairs
Hideomi Koinuma (The University of Tokyo, University of Tsukuba)
Amine Stambouli (University of Science and Technology of Oran)
Hiroko Isoda (University of Tsukuba)
Kosuke Kurokawa (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
International Advisory Board
Gurbanmyrat A. Mezilov (TAS/Turkmenistan)
Osamu Ikki (RTS-PV/Japan)
Teruo Kishi (NIMS/ Japan)
Takeshi Kamitani (previous Algeria ambassador, Kajima Corporation)
Shiro Takegami (MEXICO/Japan)
Atsuo Iiyoshi (President, Chubu Univ.)
Organizing Committee
Masatomo Sumiya (National Institute for Materials Science)
Katsuhiro Akimoto (University of Tsukuba)
Takashi Suemasu (University of Tsukuba)
Kenji Itaka (Hirosaki University)
Haruki Ueno (National Institute of Informatics)
Sataro Yamaguchi (Chubu University)
Hamzaoui Saad (Univ. of Sci. & Tech., Oran)
Flazi Samir (Univ. of Sci. & Tech., Oran)
Steering committee
Masatomo Sumiya (Chair: National Institute for Materials Sceince)
Takashi Suemasu (Co-Chair: University of Tsukuba)
Yoshikazu Suzuki (University of Tsukuba)
Kenji Itaka (Hirosaki University)
Toshio Kawahara (Chubu University)
Kiyoshi Onodera (Foundation for Advancement of International Science)
Setsu Suzuki (Comet Co.ltd.)
Program committee
Hiroshi Fujioka (Chair; University of Tokyo)
Amine Stambouli (USTO)
Toshio Kawahara (Chubu University)
Masatomo Sumiya (National Inst. for Materials Science)
Takuya Hashimoto (Nihon University)
Masatomo Sumiya (National Institute for Materials Science)
Yoshiko Yoshioka (University of Tokyo)
Tamaki Kitagawa (Alliance for Research on North Africa, University of Tsukuba )
Sponsors & support (tentative list, arbitrary order)
Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)
Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST)
Sahara Solar Breeder Project
Alliance for Research on North Africa, University of Tsukuba
University of Tsukuba
Université des Sciences et de la Technologie d'Oran, Mohamed Boudiaf (USTO)
Université Tahar Moulay de Saida (UTMS)
Unité de Recherche en Energies Renouvelables en Milieu Saharien
Centre de Développement des Energies Renouvelables (CDER)
The University of Tokyo
National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS)
Foundation of Industrial Science & Technology
North Japan Research Institute for Sustainable Energy (NJRISE), Hirosaki University
Chubu University
National Institute of Informatics (NII)
Japan Pure Water Co. Ltd.
Comet Co. Ltd.
Seavac Co.Ltd.
Shinko sha Co. Ltd.

Contact us / お問い合わせ先
Masatomo Sumiya (National Institute for Materials Science)
Copyright (c) 2015, 5thAASEF / 7thSSB / ARENA, University of Tsukuba