1st International Workshop on Nano and Microstructure Design (IWNMD2012)
in conjunction with "Capstone Design Project Seminar"

Updated on December 26, 2012
December 21, 2012, University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba, Japan

Organized by Division of Materials Science, Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences, University of Tsukuba
Supported by Pre-strategic Initiative "Tsukuba Green Innovation"
Supported by Tsukuba Tourist and Convention Association

Endorsed by "Capstone Design Project"

The 1st International Workshop on Nano and Microstructure Design (IWNMD2012) in conjunction with "Capstone Design Project Seminar" will be held in University of Tsukuba, Japan, on December 21, 2012. The purposes of the workshop are to exchange and to discuss a wide range of topics relating to the nano and microstructure design, based on materials science and related fields. The IWNMD particularly encourages undergraduate and graduate students to make active discussion (via oral presentations) among the students.
Meeting outline
Meeting Date December 21 (Friday), 2012
Venue University of Tsukuba, Area 3, Room 3A-408 (capacity ~50 persons)
Official language English
Registration fee Free (*)
(*) A small amount of actual expenses are requested for welcome party;
JP1500 yen for students and JP4000 yen for general participants,

Oral presentation
Invited presentations will be 35 min presentation + 4 min discussion (1 min for alternation)
Student presentations will be 8 min presentation + 3 min discussion (1 min for alternation)

Out of 14 student presentations, 3 presentation will be awarded as "Excellent presentation award."

Please use your (group') laptop for the presentation. And, in case of safety, please bring a USB memory with your presentation file (ppt, pptx or pdf). We also prepare a PC.
Final program (updated on Dec. 18)
December 21 (Friday), 2012
12:20 Registration open
13:00 Opening remark
Prof. Sukyoung Kim (Yeungnam Univ.)
13:10 Invited talk (1) (Chairperson: Y. Suzuki)
(IN-1) Dr. Tohru S. Suzuki (NIMS)
"Anisotropic Science and Technology for Ceramics"
13:50 Student presentation (1) (Chairperson: S. Tsujimura)
(S1-1) Jae Hui Jeon1, Y.H. Han1, BK Jang2, and Sukyoung Kim1 (1Yeungnam Univ., 2NIMS)
"Bioglass coaitng on Ti by plasma spraying method"
(S1-2) Ryosuke Maki, Yoshikazu. Suzuki (Univ. Tsukuba)
"Reactive sintering and evaluation of MgO-doped Al2TiO5"
(S1-3) Ji Hwoan Lee and Sukyoung Kim (Yeungnam Univ.)
"Dry dispersion of CNT in ZrO2 powders"
(S1-4) Takaharu Okada1, Koichiro Uto2, Chun Man Lee3, Mitsuhiro Ebara2, and Takao Aoyagi1,2 (1Univ. Tsukuba, 2NIMS, 3Osaka Univ.)
"Nano film coating on the envelope type virus using Layer-by-Layer assembly technique"
(S1-5) Toru Nakayama1, Kentaro Tashiro2, and Yohei Yamamoto1 (1Univ. Tsukuba, 2NIMS)
"Fmoc-induced beta-sheet formation using designed oligopeptides"
14:50 Break
15:00 Invited talk (2) (Chairperson: Eung-ryul Baek)
(IN-2) Prof. Young-Hwan Han (Yeungnam Univ.)
"Current researches with spark plasma sintering at Yeungnam University"
15:40 Student presentation (2) (Chairperson: S. Kim)
(S2-1) Kenichi Tabata, Takayuki Sasaki, and Yohei Yamamoto (Univ. Tsukuba)
Magnetic-field Induced orientation in organic semiconductor thin films"
(S2-2) W. Ham1, H. Yoshida2, BN Kim2, HW Son1, YH Han1 and S. Kim1 (1Yeungnam Univ., 2NIMS)
"Superplasticity of hydroxyapatite ceramics prepared with SPS"
(S2-3) Kazufumi Aisu1, Tohru. S. Suzuki2 Yoshikazu Suzuki1 (1Univ. Tsukuba, 2NIMS)
"AAO-template assisted synthesis and evalution of TiO2 nanomaterials"
(S2-4) Aohan Wang, Kohsuke Kawabata, Hiromasa Goto (Univ. Tsukuba)
"Preparation of a polymer semiconducting grating in liquid crystal template as bottom up technique"
(S2-5) Hideki Kaneko, Katsuhiro Kato, and Yohei Yamamoto (Univ. Tsukuba)
"Core-shell type ferroelectric nanoparticles using poly(vinylidene fluoride)"
16:40 Break
16:50 Student presentation (3) (Chairperson: Y. Yamamoto)
(S3-1) Hitoshi Nishijima, Takahiro Kozawa, Yoshikazu Suzuki (Univ. Tsukuba)
"Preparation and characterization of porous Al2TiO5 toward diesel particulate filter application"
(S3-2) Handoosol Ji and Eung-ryul Baek (Yeungnam Univ.)
"The weldability of resistance spot welding for vibration damping Al/steel hybrid plate"
(S3-3) Wataru Akatsuka, and Seiya Tsujimura (Univ. Tsukuba)
"Engineering MgO-templated porous carbon electrodes by the electrophoretic deposition method for high-power biofuel cells"
(S3-4) Taiki Hono and Yoshikazu Suzuki (Univ. Tsukuba)
"Uniformly porous pseudobrookite-structured ceramics with narrow pore-size distribution: water filter application"
- award selection - (about 15 min)
17:55 Closing remark
Prof. Yoshikazu Suzuki (Univ. Tsukuba)
- Awarding ceremony (Exellent Presentation Award for 3 students)
18:30 Welcome party (~20:00)
Restaurant "Senkohanami", 3-10-10, Amakubo, Tsukuba
(Just 3 min walk from the Guest House (Daigaku-Kaikan) of Univ. Tsukuba)
December 22 (Saturday), 2012 (optional)
9:00 Excursion (conducted by students), Tokyo area (tentative) (~14:30)
Access to University of Tsukuba
Tsukuba Express: http://www.mir.co.jp/en/
Route Map-Tsukuba Campus

University of Tsukuba, Area 3, Room 3A-408 (capacity ~50 persons)

(Building 3A locates in J-7 in the map)
Prof. Young-Hwan Han
School of Materials Science and Engineering
Yeungnam University (Korea)
Prof. Yoshikazu Suzuki
Division of Materials Science
Faculty of Pure and Applied Sciences
University of Tsukuba (Japan)

TEL: +81-29-853-5026
Local organizing committee
Prof. Yohei Yamamoto, Prof. Seiya Tsujimura (University of Tsukuba, Japan)

Workshop record

Total 24 participants
8 general participants 4 professors and 1 coordinator from Univ. Tsukuba
3 professors from Yeungnam Univ.
1 invited speaker from NIMS
16 students 12 students from Univ. Tsukuba
4 students from Yeungnam Univ.
Exellent Presentation Award

Takaharu Okada (right), Aoyagi Lab.

Kenichi Tabata (right), Yamamoto Lab.

Handooseol Ji (left), Baek Lab.
Welcome party
Copyright (c) 2012, IWNMD2012, University of Tsukuba